Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Fantasy Opinion

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Heya guys, Besides Deuce and Horn, who do you think could be a fantasy pick on the Saints as a "sleeper"? I have heard Boo Williams name tossed around but I think that Henderson will prove to be more productive ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2004, 11:37 AM   #1
100th Post
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 154
Fantasy Opinion

Heya guys,

Besides Deuce and Horn, who do you think could be a fantasy pick on the Saints as a "sleeper"? I have heard Boo Williams name tossed around but I think that Henderson will prove to be more productive than Stallworth due to estimated play time (ie injuries).

Last year I loaded up with Saints players (big mistake) because I followed my heart and not my head.

Bise is offline  
Latest Blogs
2015 Saints Bye Week Draft Last Blog: 10-16-2014 By: hagan714


"IRONY" Last Blog: 10-01-2014 By: teddybarexxx


Sainity Zone 9-30-14 Hail Last Blog: 09-30-2014 By: xan


Old 05-04-2004, 03:28 PM   #2
100th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 245
Fantasy Opinion

It depends on
a) what you expect from a player in the upcoming season (obviously)
b) the scoring system

If a kick returner gets points for his returns, Henderson might be an option. I don\'t think he will put up numbers close to that of Stallworth on plays from scrimmage this season.
Boo Williams would be an option if he continues his play from late last season. However I expect him to share playing time and not the pro bowl season some see waiting for him. Hard to find a tight end who scores points on a regular basis. Sharpe won me more than one fantasy matchup last season.
Brooks is an option if your strategy is to pick QBs late or if you play in a league with 2 starting QBs (whacky, but that\'s the way blackandgold.net did it last year).

In leagues with individualized defense our whole secondary is an option, because they\'ll make a lot of tackles this season when opposing QBs throw at them all day long. Or when the SS has to play in the box because our LBs still can\'t tackle. Mitchell or Bellamy are definite fantasy picks at that position.
no_cloning is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 05:08 PM   #3
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,631
Fantasy Opinion

In terms of total points, I\'d guess you\'re probably going to see something like this:

Deuce
Brooks (those two may be reversed based on scoring system)
Horn
--- big drop ----
Carney
Stallworth
Boo
Conwell
Henderson

Boo should be a sleeper. Stallworth could be if he comes around. Gash or Stecker could be worth some points if they are used.

Of course, injuries could play major roles too. If Brooks gets hurt, Bouman could be worth a ton.
WhoDat is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 06:43 AM   #4
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orlando,FL
Posts: 1,369
Fantasy Opinion

Certainly depends on scoring system.....Deuce,Brooks,Horn,Carney and it depends on what TE\'s are available on your pick, TE\'s aren\'t generally huge fantasy contributors. Deuce depending on your draft slot could be a solid 1st rounder......Carney could be a primary or a second kicker(usually a good scoring offensive team-at least will get you Xpoint), Horn anywhere from a 2nd to 4th receiver. I generally dont load up with hardly any players from the same team for two reasons. First, how many key performers are there on the same team in any given week? Second, when you have a Bye week you are hurting.

Don't want 'em to get your goat....don't show 'em where it's hid
subguy is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 07:00 AM   #5
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 16,422
Fantasy Opinion

Brooks, McAllister, and Horn will all be gone early in most drafts, unless you\'re in the village idiot league.

So your best bet on a late round sleeper is Boo Williams if you have a TE. TE\'s don\'t score as much as WR\'s so if your league combines TE/WR, avoid Boo till really late.

If your league requires a TE, grab Boo. He may put up Gonzales numbers this year.

I\'d also take a late round flier on Stallworth. Everyone\'s down on him, so he should slip, but lets face it, if he gets his hammy probs behind him he\'s near a top 10 fantasy WR(in a scoring league).

Our interior O-line should be much better so I can see Deuces goal line scoring improve.
I\'d move him above Green, but behind Tomlinson, Portis and Holmes.

I have brooks as about the 4th or 5th best fantasy QB. Higher if you aren\'t punished for TO\'s. He should be a TD machine this year. We play a ton of really bad defenses this year (based on last year\'s results) so he should light it up.

'Tolerance And Apathy Are The Last Virtues Of A Dying Society'
Danno is online now  
Old 05-05-2004, 01:44 PM   #6
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,631
Fantasy Opinion

I agree that Stallworth is a good late round pickup that\'s worth the risk, however I don\'t think he\'ll be near the top 10 in any league. With the explosiveness of Henderson, the stability of Horn, big bodies in the middle (Boo and Conwell), and Deuce, I doubt Stallworth will be as explosive as he was in his rookie season when he was THE big play threat. He\'s still a good pickup though, especially in leagues that allow for four WR.
WhoDat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts