Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; The Raiders will host the New Orleans Saints at O.co Coliseum in 2012 Week 11 action, presented by USAA. Head Coach Dennis Allen will face his former team for the first time. Coach Allen was an assistant coach with the ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By onebyone
  • 1 Post By dizzle88

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 06:45 AM   #1
Threaded by papz
Got a problem?
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,400

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

The Raiders will host the New Orleans Saints at O.co Coliseum in 2012 Week 11 action, presented by USAA. Head Coach Dennis Allen will face his former team for the first time. Coach Allen was an assistant coach with the Saints for five seasons - assistant defensive line coach (2006-07) and defensive backs coach (2008-10). “I started coaching in the National Football League in Atlanta, but really I grew up in the National Football League in New Orleans,” said Coach Allen. “I got a lot of good memories there. We were able to win a championship, so it was a big part of my development as a coach.”

The two teams first met in 1971, have faced off 11 times and are tied 5-5-1 in the all-time series record. The Saints started the 2012 season 0-4, but have bounced back to win four out of their last five games, most recently beating the previously undefeated Atlanta Falcons. “They’re a good football team,” said Coach Allen. “Obviously they didn’t start the season the way they wanted to, but the way that they’ve played over the last five weeks, they’ve played exceptionally well. It’s obviously going to be a tough challenge going against that team. We’ve got our work cut out for us.”

The Raiders understand the importance of Sunday’s game against New Orleans. “It’s going to be a big matchup for us,” said QB Carson Palmer. “We get a chance to get back and play at home. They’ve won four out of five. They need a win with how their season started off. We need a win desperately. They can score a lot of points and we know we have to score a lot of points to keep up with them. It’s going to be an exciting game. I can’t wait to get to Sunday.”

Read more: Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	raiders.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	5673  

Views: 712
Old 11-17-2012, 07:01 AM   #2
SaintsWillWin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shreveport,Louisiana
Posts: 9,419
Re: Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

There are a ton of weapons to watch out for on the Saints offense. Jimmy Graham is the one I worry most about because tight ends have killed the Raiders this year and most recently the tight ends killed them last week. Jimmy had been hurt most the year but last week he had a monster game and is obviously back healthy. He is a scary person to have to defend with his basketball leaping ability.



Darren Sproles is also a Raider killer and appears to be back this week. Then there is still Marques Colston and Lance Moore on the outsides at WR and Chris Ivory has been averaging 7 yards a carry the last two weeks. Oh and did I mention Pierre Thomas? Yeah this Saints team is loaded alright, and that's why the defensive line needs to show up this game. Watch for screens especially because that's where Sproles has killed us in the past. Watch for everything really because there isn't a weak spot for this Saints offense.


Week 11 game preview; Raiders vs Saints - Silver And Black Pride

"A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to "The United States of America" for an amount of "up to and including my life."
WhoDat!656 is offline  
Old 11-17-2012, 03:00 PM   #3
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 10,983
Re: Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

I wish Dennis Allen well when we're done with them. I like Palmer and their bad boy attitude.
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Old 11-17-2012, 03:05 PM   #4
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 1,752
Re: Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

"I started coaching in the National Football League in Atlanta, but really I grew up in the National Football League in New Orleans,” - Dennis Allen

Was there ever really a question?
Utah_Saint is offline  
Old 11-17-2012, 04:02 PM   #5
I donate wisdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Finland... formerly Southern Virginia
Posts: 3,896
Re: Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

I too wish the best for Allen, but unfortunately for him, the Saints are going to be too tough of an opponent for his team this week - if last week's Ravens game is anything to go by.

I haven't got anything against the Raiders, but I really don't like their field with the baseball diamond, and how it presents a problem for the players with the alternating surface types. Sometimes I wonder if that type of a field solution causes more player injuries, but I guess that isn't the case since they continue to use the filed as it is - probably out of necessity?!

"I don't think I'll be thinking at all. I think I'm just gonna go out there and play my balls out" - Martez Wilson | "I'm not bashing people, I'm bashing their opinions because in my opinion their opinion is wrong" - Danno
FinSaint is online now  
Old 11-18-2012, 08:37 AM   #6
100th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 420
Re: Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

It would be nice if this could be a total blow out and not yet another close one that makes me bite my nails and drink too much.
Danno, dizzle88 and pherein like this.
onebyone is offline  
Old 11-18-2012, 09:41 AM   #7
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 3,880
Re: Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

Originally Posted by onebyone View Post
It would be nice if this could be a total blow out and not yet another close one that makes me bite my nails and drink too much.
The close games absolutely kill me, I can't sit down to watch the game when it's comes down to the last drive

Hopefully we can get in a real rhythm offensively and Defensively, and put the game out of reach early
onebyone likes this.
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 11-18-2012, 10:50 AM   #8
failclownHunter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: N.O. and V.A.
Posts: 1,784
Blog Entries: 3
Re: Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

things that will tick me off.
#1 We spot the other team 10-14 pts again, and have to win from behind.

#2 We turn over the ball after another long drive.

#3 Defense waste more than 30 mins TOP again

#4 Graham keeps dropping balls

#5 Ivory doesn't get his reps. Hes earn it over Ingram, sorry

#6 O gets 2 3 and outs in a row. cant keep rhythm

#7 We sputter and don't put the raiders way if we get the chance.

#8 defense takes a step backward

#9 We struggle against another should beat team.

Time to make the DOMENuts !!!!
pherein is offline  
Old 11-18-2012, 11:04 AM   #9
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,208
Re: Game Preview: Raiders vs. Saints

Originally Posted by pherein View Post
things that will tick me off.
#1 We spot the other team 10-14 pts again, and have to win from behind.

#2 We turn over the ball after another long drive.

#3 Defense waste more than 30 mins TOP again

#4 Graham keeps dropping balls

#5 Ivory doesn't get his reps. Hes earn it over Ingram, sorry

#6 O gets 2 3 and outs in a row. cant keep rhythm

#7 We sputter and don't put the raiders way if we get the chance.

#8 defense takes a step backward

#9 We struggle against another should beat team.
Other than #5, you've described the entire season for me so far.
Danno is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/52980-game-preview-raiders-vs-saints.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 11-30-2012 04:54 AM 2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts