Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Draft review: New Orleans Saints

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; After analyzing the draft needs of all 32 teams, PFT will review how well each team addressed those needs. Up next: The New Orleans Saints. What they needed: Outside linebacker, offensive tackle, wide receiver, safety. Who they got: Round 1: ...

Like Tree3Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 07:30 PM   #1
SaintsWillWin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shreveport,Louisiana
Posts: 9,921
Draft review: New Orleans Saints

After analyzing the draft needs of all 32 teams, PFT will review how well each team addressed those needs. Up next: The New Orleans Saints.

What they needed: Outside linebacker, offensive tackle, wide receiver, safety.

Who they got:
Round 1: Kenny Vaccaro, S, Texas

Round 3: Terron Armstead, OT, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Round 3: John Jenkins, DT, Georgia

Round 5: Kenny Stills, WR, Oklahoma

Round 6: Rufus Johnson, DE, Tarleton State

Where they hit: By drafting Vaccaro, they get to take at least one member of the league’s all-time worst defense off the field. That alone makes it a good thing, but they had multiple needs on that side of the ball. Jenkins was effectively the result of the Chris Ivory trade, so they swapped a reserve running back for a guy who could chew up space in the middle of Rob Ryan’s 3-4 defense for years to come.

Where they missed: Armstead has some potential at a spot they have a need, but in the short-term, he might not be more able to protect Drew Brees’ blind side than Charles Brown is this year. But he wasn’t necessarily drafted for this year. They also failed to bring in any meaningful help for the pass rush, which means free agent pickup Victor Butler better take a big step up, or the Saints are going to struggle to be that much better on that side of the ball.

Impact rookies: With only five picks, it was going to be hard to fill all the needs this offseason. And adding the best safety in the draft is clearly a benefit for the Saints. But this group is shorter on now than it is on later, and that’s a troubling sign. Stills has enough talent that he could end up looking like a steal, considering the personnel he has to work with.

Long-term prospects: With Sean Payton back on the sidelines and Brees under center, there’s a floor on how bad the Saints are going to be. But many of the issues they walked into the draft with still exist. Armstead’s talented enough that me might be a starting left tackle, and if he delivers on that, getting him in the third is a coup. They addressed some needs on defense in free agency, but again, it wasn’t going to be possible to check off all the boxes.


Draft review: New Orleans Saints | ProFootballTalk

"A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to "The United States of America" for an amount of "up to and including my life."
WhoDat!656 is offline  
Latest Blogs
The ArtiChoke Last Blog: 09-18-2014 By: Barry from MS


How to really handle Ray Rice and AP Last Blog: 09-17-2014 By: neugey


The Lost Art of the Trade Last Blog: 08-30-2014 By: jeanpierre


Old 05-06-2013, 07:33 PM   #2
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alexandria, La
Posts: 7,173
Re: Draft review: New Orleans Saints

Where they missed: Armstead has some potential at a spot they have a need, but in the short-term, he might not be more able to protect Drew Brees’ blind side than Charles Brown is this year. But he wasn’t necessarily drafted for this year. They also failed to bring in any meaningful help for the pass rush, which means free agent pickup Victor Butler better take a big step up, or the Saints are going to struggle to be that much better on that side of the ball.
I disagree! Galette, Wilson, Thomas?!
Rell&Gold and rmgoris11 like this.
|Mitch| is offline  
Old 05-06-2013, 09:50 PM   #3
In Doh We Trust
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 5,969
Blog Entries: 16
Re: Draft review: New Orleans Saints

SSDD. How can their be so MANY different opinions on our draft?

If they are all "Experts" shouldn't they have the same basic outlook within a few standard deviation points?
homerj07 is offline  
Old 05-06-2013, 09:53 PM   #4
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bayou Bayfield CO
Posts: 2,859
Re: Draft review: New Orleans Saints

They say blah, blah, blah (when they even bother to mention the Saints at all). All I hear is, we'll have an idea of things come the beginning of November.
Seer1 is offline  
Old 05-07-2013, 04:58 PM   #5
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 365
Re: Draft review: New Orleans Saints

Why does everyone keep saying the Saints didn't draft a pass rusher. They may not know who he is but Rufus Johnson is a pass rusher! And like someone has already pointed out besides Butler, we have Gallete and Wilson; and what about the UDFAs.
hagan714 likes this.
NonieT is offline  
Old 05-07-2013, 09:30 PM   #6
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 11,366
Re: Draft review: New Orleans Saints

Originally Posted by homerj07 View Post
SSDD. How can their be so MANY different opinions on our draft?

If they are all "Experts" shouldn't they have the same basic outlook within a few standard deviation points?
Even our own experts disagree sometimes.
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Old 05-07-2013, 09:38 PM   #7
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,933
Re: Draft review: New Orleans Saints

The problem is the experts evaluate the draft on current needs, not on long term payoff.

They knock the Armstead pick because he won't contribute immediately? Wow, thats pretty shortsighted.
Danno is offline  
Old 05-07-2013, 10:20 PM   #8
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 365
Re: Draft review: New Orleans Saints

Originally Posted by Danno View Post
The problem is the experts evaluate the draft on current needs, not on long term payoff.

They knock the Armstead pick because he won't contribute immediately? Wow, thats pretty shortsighted.
And boneheaded!
NonieT is offline  
Old 05-08-2013, 06:21 AM   #9
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bayou Cane
Posts: 6,460
Blog Entries: 12
Re: Draft review: New Orleans Saints

Should Armstead start and do well at Left Tackle this season and we just lost Bushrod to Free Agency...

I'd say that will be a huge steal/win for the team...
jeanpierre is offline  
Old 05-09-2013, 07:20 AM   #10
100th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 422
Re: Draft review: New Orleans Saints

Evaluating a draft before the players ever hit a pro practice feild is not to be taken for anything other than a guess. All players are drafted on potiential. IMHO we have the potiential of having three starters. If it turns out that we have to wait a year for that to develop I'm ok with that. I think that the possibility is that four of our five picks could contribute significant snaps this year. However lots of things will affect this possibility, injuries, other players breaking out, vet pickups etc...In the end we and all the experts will not know until sometime in the future???
triman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/57648-draft-review-new-orleans-saints.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 05-06-2013 08:06 PM 5
Draft review: New Orleans Saints This thread Refback 05-06-2013 08:02 PM 32


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts