Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - New Orleans Saints - YouTube Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - New Orleans Saints - YouTube Happy 4th of July B&G! Here's my season preview for the Saints! Em...

Like Tree7Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2013, 02:16 PM   #1
Budding Star
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 216
Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints


Happy 4th of July B&G! Here's my season preview for the Saints!

Em
RockyMountainSaint likes this.
FootballCEO is offline  
Old 07-04-2013, 09:36 PM   #2
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bossier City, LA
Posts: 1,875
Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

Excellent job! The only comment that I can add is on the secondary. Do not forget they were forced to play zone last season and will be returning to man coverage this season. There were several occasions last year when they were confused in coverage and left receivers wide open. They were not beaten because of lack of talent, but lack of understanding of the complex scheme. Man coverage is more dependent upon skill.
AsylumGuido is offline  
Old 07-05-2013, 05:53 AM   #3
Budding Star
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 216
Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

Originally Posted by AsylumGuido View Post
Excellent job! The only comment that I can add is on the secondary. Do not forget they were forced to play zone last season and will be returning to man coverage this season. There were several occasions last year when they were confused in coverage and left receivers wide open. They were not beaten because of lack of talent, but lack of understanding of the complex scheme. Man coverage is more dependent upon skill.
Thanks Asylum! I don't think Patrick Robinson had any excuse last season...he was just straight hot steamy garbage juice.
FootballCEO is offline  
Old 07-05-2013, 10:46 AM   #4
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alexandria, La
Posts: 6,969
Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

Finally got around to watching... Got to say I like your prediction Emory!
FootballCEO likes this.
|Mitch| is offline  
Old 07-05-2013, 09:14 PM   #5
Budding Star
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 216
Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

Originally Posted by |Mitch| View Post
Finally got around to watching... Got to say I like your prediction Emory!
Thanks Mitch! Its gonna be a good one!
FootballCEO is offline  
Old 07-06-2013, 08:01 AM   #6
I donate wisdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Finland... formerly Southern Virginia
Posts: 3,901
Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

Excellent job Emory... like always!


I really enjoyed your analysis even though I did disagree with some of your points, but that's always to be expected with such an in-depth and lengthy analysis.

I don't want to start nitpicking since it was a good piece, but I'd just like to point out that you forgot to mention Marcel Jones when you were talking about the RT position. I think Jones will be the Saints' starting RT at the end of this season or next season at the latest. He has all the intangibles to be a dominating RT and he showed some really nice talent in the preseason before being forced into the IR with a season ending injury. Mike Mayock said that Jones could become an upper tier RT in the league, but that he just was (is?) really raw when it came to his understanding of how to play the position successfully. Now, it could be that losing Kromer will have an negative impact on how Jones will develop from a coaching standpoint, but I'm not entirely convinced that Kromer was the only reason why the Saints have been able to develop upper tier O-linemen from seemingly middle- to low round talent.

"I don't think I'll be thinking at all. I think I'm just gonna go out there and play my balls out" - Martez Wilson | "I'm not bashing people, I'm bashing their opinions because in my opinion their opinion is wrong" - Danno
FinSaint is offline  
Old 07-06-2013, 08:23 AM   #7
500th Post
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 623
Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

Love these analyses!

I agree almost entirely with the breakdown. Not sure about winning the south though - Sjax scares the crap out of me.
westbankdaze is offline  
Old 07-06-2013, 08:55 AM   #8
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 3,992
Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

Great breakdown

The only part I would disagree with is where it says "big fan of garrett hartley"

He did amazing in 2009 and has been average ever since (much like tracy porter)

Misses important kicks and always has a deer in the headlights look, then relief when the ball actually goes between the posts
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 07-07-2013, 05:12 PM   #9
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 11,201
Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

Your insight is spot on. Besides liking Hartley I agree with you.
It almost sounds like this article was written from a fans perspective.
Good job as always. Who Dat!
Rugby Saint II is online now  
Old 07-09-2013, 03:54 PM   #10
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 11,017
Blog Entries: 5
Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints

You have us winning the division. What's to argue?

Nicely done as always sir, and you've slowed the pace a bit which I always harped on you for. ESPN should just get your videos and loop them - there's a lot of good info in there.

saintfan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/58773-football-gameplans-2013-nfl-team-preview-saints.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 07-04-2013 03:19 PM 4
Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints This thread Refback 07-04-2013 02:45 PM 32


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts