Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; For the past three seasons, quarterback Chase Daniel had served as Drew Brees’ backup. With Daniel signing with Kansas City in free agency, three signal callers acquired this offseason look to fill the role – veterans Seneca Wallace, Luke McCown ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Danno
  • 1 Post By rezburna

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2013, 09:04 AM   #1
Threaded by Halo
Site Donor 2014
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 11,209

Blog Entries: 43
Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

For the past three seasons, quarterback Chase Daniel had served as Drew Brees’ backup. With Daniel signing with Kansas City in free agency, three signal callers acquired this offseason look to fill the role – veterans Seneca Wallace, Luke McCown and rookie Ryan Griffin.

Both McCown and Griffin are familiar with the Saints system. McCown spent two months on the Saints roster last offseason and Griffin played for Tulane Coach Curtis Johnson, who runs an offense he learned from Sean Payton during his tenure as New Orleans Saints wide receivers coach.

Entering his 10th NFL season, McCown comes to New Orleans from Atlanta where he backed up Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan in 2012 after spending training camp with the Saints. He was originally a fourth round selection (106th overall) in the 2004 NFL Draft by the Cleveland Browns. The former Louisiana Tech standout has played in 22 career games with nine starts with the Browns, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, the Jacksonville Jaguars and the Falcons. He has completed 184 of 316 passes for 2,035 yards with nine touchdowns and a 68.5 passer rating.

Griffin was a four-year starter for the Green Wave and appeared in 42 games with 39 starts, completing 836 of 1,396 passes for 9,026 yards, 79 touchdowns and 35 interceptions. He set Tulane career marks in attempts, completions and completion percentage, finishing ranked second in passing yards, passing yards per game (214.9), attempts per game, completions per game, and 300-yard passing games (10).

Wallace is a nine-year veteran who joined the Saints at the start of the club’s 2013 offseason conditioning program. He has appeared in 62 games with 21 starts during his NFL career, completing 452 of 764 passes for 4,808 yards with 31 touchdowns, 18 interceptions and an 84.5 passer rating. Also a threat with his legs, Wallace has carried 68 times for 293 yards with one touchdown run during his tenure with both the Seattle Seahawks and Cleveland Browns.

Quotes on the backup QB position:
Sean Payton on the backup QB battle (June 4, 2013):

“Obviously, Ryan Griffin is the young guy from Tulane and then the two other players have both seen snaps in our league and have experience, Seneca Wallace and Luke McCown. I am anxious to see them progress through the offense. They are both picking things up well. Luke has been here before and (this is) Seneca’s first time, but so far they have handled it well.”
25 Reasons to Get Excited about 2013 Saints Training Camp: No. 19 Backup QB Battle

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	05312013-ryan-griffin-saints.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	7291  

Views: 1864
Old 07-08-2013, 09:32 AM   #2
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: D'iberville, MS
Posts: 1,571
Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

I hope Seneca wins the battle. He's definitely the better of he and McCown.
rezburna is offline  
Old 07-08-2013, 09:39 AM   #3
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,455
Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

I don't think it matters. Both Wallace and McCown can hold down the fort for a few games if Drew gets dinged, but anything over 4 or 5 games and we're in trouble.

Both are capable back-ups and come at the right price. Its a coin toss to me.

I think Griffin is a perfect PS guy for 1 or 2 seasons then we'll have our back-up for another 2 or 3 years.
hagan714 likes this.
Danno is offline  
Old 07-08-2013, 09:44 AM   #4
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: D'iberville, MS
Posts: 1,571
Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

Originally Posted by Danno View Post
I don't think it matters. Both Wallace and McCown can hold down the fort for a few games if Drew gets dinged, but anything over 4 or 5 games and we're in trouble.

Both are capable back-ups and come at the right price. Its a coin toss to me.

I think Griffin is a perfect PS guy for 1 or 2 seasons then we'll have our back-up for another 2 or 3 years.
I've always been a fan of Seneca. I often wonder if he couldve been a productive starter for the right team.
Seer1 likes this.
rezburna is offline  
Old 07-08-2013, 11:31 AM   #5
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan by way of a little Mississippi River town in Louisiana
Posts: 2,580
Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

I think if Brees gets dinged I would like to see what the rookie could do. Baptism by fire. Could be a pleasant surprise.
halloween 65 is offline  
Old 07-08-2013, 01:49 PM   #6
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bayou Bayfield CO
Posts: 2,826
Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

Originally Posted by halloween 65 View Post
I think if Brees gets dinged I would like to see what the rookie could do. Baptism by fire. Could be a pleasant surprise.
I was thinking the same thing. We've seen McClown. While a fan of Wallace, I don't think the Saints are built to his specs. Get the rookie up to speed and he could be our next standard bearer.


Just hoping not in the foreseeable future...
Seer1 is offline  
Old 07-08-2013, 01:57 PM   #7
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tomball, Tx most of the time. Biloxi, Ms. the rest of the time.
Posts: 96
Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

None of these guys will be able to offset what the defense allows. Hoping we may find someone on waivers by end of preseason.
gulfgambler is offline  
Old 07-09-2013, 04:28 AM   #8
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,979
Blog Entries: 39
Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

Originally Posted by Danno View Post
I don't think it matters. Both Wallace and McCown can hold down the fort for a few games if Drew gets dinged, but anything over 4 or 5 games and we're in trouble.

Both are capable back-ups and come at the right price. Its a coin toss to me.

I think Griffin is a perfect PS guy for 1 or 2 seasons then we'll have our back-up for another 2 or 3 years.
Agreed. I give Wallace the edge on ball security history. I give luke the edge on toughness
hagan714 is offline  
Old 07-09-2013, 09:30 PM   #9
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 17,244
Blog Entries: 27
Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

Originally Posted by gulfgambler View Post
None of these guys will be able to offset what the defense allows. Hoping we may find someone on waivers by end of preseason.
You just might be right... If my recollection is accurate, that's how we got Chase.

Last edited by SmashMouth; 07-10-2013 at 04:43 PM..
SmashMouth is offline  
Old 07-10-2013, 04:07 PM   #10
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 11,182
Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle

I'm afraid that we would lose Griffin if he gets much playing time and does well enough to make the PS. Didn't we get dlp from someone else's PS?
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/58796-training-camp-preview-backup-qb-battle.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest Ryan Griffin News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 07-14-2013 12:27 AM 2
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 07-08-2013 04:53 PM 6
Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle This thread Refback 07-08-2013 09:32 AM 12


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts