Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Saints-Patriots Preview

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady's streak of 52 consecutive regular-season games with a touchdown pass ended last week. He'll gladly accept another streak coming to an end Sunday. Brady is 0-3 in his NFL career against Drew Brees, who ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2013, 06:33 PM   #1
Threaded by papz
Retired
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,553

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady's streak of 52 consecutive regular-season games with a touchdown pass ended last week. He'll gladly accept another streak coming to an end Sunday.

Brady is 0-3 in his NFL career against Drew Brees, who will play at New England for the first time as a member of the New Orleans Saints.

Brady's only win against Brees came just over 14 years ago when he was a senior at Michigan and Brees was in his junior year at Purdue.

Brees has since topped Brady and the Patriots twice with San Diego and once in New Orleans. Brady, though, is focused more on executing the basics with his struggling offense, which could feature tight end Rob Gronkowski for the first time this season.

Gronkowski has been recovering from offseason surgeries on his broken left forearm and back. He participated in practice on a limited basis Wednesday.

"Our job is to go out there and score, so we're not doing a great job of that," Brady said. "Our execution has to be a lot better, and that's what we're working on. We're trying to improve in all areas. It's frustrating when we don't score, but we're going to try to do better this weekend."

A year after leading the league in scoring and yards per game, the Patriots (4-1) are 24th in points (19.0) and 18th in yards (343.4) after last Sunday's 13-6 loss at Cincinnati.

It was Brady's first regular-season game without a touchdown pass since Jan. 3, 2010, against Houston.

Five games before that, he played Brees and the Saints in New Orleans and also failed to pass for a TD in a 38-17 loss Nov. 30, 2009. Brees threw five touchdown passes in that meeting, the last between the teams.

While Brady has been without Gronkowski, Brees and tight end Jimmy Graham are more in tune than ever for the Saints (5-0).

Graham leads the league with 593 receiving yards and is tied for second with 37 catches and six touchdowns.

"I'm just blessed to be with such a great quarterback and a guy who has so much trust in me," Graham said.

Read more: Y! SPORTS

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	graham16.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	8155  

Views: 672
Latest Blogs
2015 Saints Bye Week Draft Last Blog: 10-16-2014 By: hagan714


"IRONY" Last Blog: 10-01-2014 By: teddybarexxx


Sainity Zone 9-30-14 Hail Last Blog: 09-30-2014 By: xan


Old 10-09-2013, 07:50 PM   #2
In Doh We Trust
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 5,969
Blog Entries: 16
Re: Saints-Patriots Preview

Hopefully our D is somewhat used to covering Jimmy & will have an answer for the headache Gronk can be.
homerj07 is offline  
Old 10-10-2013, 03:56 AM   #3
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10,390
Blog Entries: 40
Re: Saints-Patriots Preview

pressure containment and sacking Brady is the key. we gotta get in his face up the middle. he is a master in the pocket when avoiding the rush. But he is best stepping up into the pocket and sliding left or right. sound familiar.

Hicks Jenkins and Jordan are the key.

Jenkins must push the pocket in the middle.

Hicks and Jenkins must contain that pocket and watch their lanes

if they do this our out OLB should be able to flush Brady back into the pocket and into their laps.
hagan714 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/61081-saints-patriots-preview.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Saints-Patriots Preview This thread Refback 10-09-2013 08:05 PM 17


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts