Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Defensive film review - Steelers game

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Had the pleasure of taking the 4 1/2 hour drive across PA to the game Sunday. Beautiful weather. Awesome win! My buddy, the Stealers fan, was silent and the Black & Yaller faithful in Heinz Field were in utter disbelief. ...

Like Tree17Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2014, 04:44 PM   #11
Booty Bandit
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Wastelands that are NJ
Posts: 470
Re: Film review - Steelers game

Had the pleasure of taking the 4 1/2 hour drive across PA to the game Sunday. Beautiful weather. Awesome win! My buddy, the Stealers fan, was silent and the Black & Yaller faithful in Heinz Field were in utter disbelief. It wasn't even on their radar that they could lose this one.

A couple of observations from the stands-

- Ingram runs angry. Daddy liiiike! He was gouging a D that prides itself on being tough. It was a thing of beauty.
- Colston is dropping passes this year. A LOT. He's usually money when the ball is anywhere near his zip code. Not sure what's going on in his head.
- Jimmy Graham is a nothing more than a high priced decoy if he can't get separation at least some of the time in double coverage.
- P-Rob. What can I say? I have to keep my expectations low. He didn't get burnt deep, but he did drop a sure-fire pick 6 early in the game. He's a nickle CB at best. Please develop SJB! Soon!
- Drew looked like the Brees of old. His vision of the field was incredible. Ball placement had Stealers fans giving begrudging praise all game long.
- Kenny Stills was on FIRE! I saw the out and up route before Drew released the ball and was celebrating the TD while the ball was still in flight. He's turning out to be a great pick up in WR.
- Ryan has got to go. Period. His schemes are not working and we got EXTREMELY lucky that Rothlisberger hurt his throwing hand early in this game. There were too many plays where Heath Miller was literally running routes with no one even 5 yards from him. And why Bell was not covered coming out on the flat, I don't know. If Ben doesn't overthrow Miller for 3 quarters, we lose this game. And what's up with giving up all of those soft yards/ scores at the end of the 4th quarter?

Overall: Since we hadn't won in Pittsburgh since '87, I'm happy. Our boys just need to keep this going and close strong. And yes, 8-8 will take the South. Everyone is 0-0 in the Playoffs.

A wise man once said, "Poo-poo smells just as bad as s#!%. One just SOUNDS cuter!"
leilung is offline  
Old 12-03-2014, 05:10 PM   #12
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,556
Blog Entries: 3
Re: Film review - Steelers game

Originally Posted by leilung View Post
Had the pleasure of taking the 4 1/2 hour drive across PA to the game Sunday. Beautiful weather. Awesome win! My buddy, the Stealers fan, was silent and the Black & Yaller faithful in Heinz Field were in utter disbelief. It wasn't even on their radar that they could lose this one.



A couple of observations from the stands-



- Ingram runs angry. Daddy liiiike! He was gouging a D that prides itself on being tough. It was a thing of beauty.

- Colston is dropping passes this year. A LOT. He's usually money when the ball is anywhere near his zip code. Not sure what's going on in his head.

- Jimmy Graham is a nothing more than a high priced decoy if he can't get separation at least some of the time in double coverage.

- P-Rob. What can I say? I have to keep my expectations low. He didn't get burnt deep, but he did drop a sure-fire pick 6 early in the game. He's a nickle CB at best. Please develop SJB! Soon!

- Drew looked like the Brees of old. His vision of the field was incredible. Ball placement had Stealers fans giving begrudging praise all game long.

- Kenny Stills was on FIRE! I saw the out and up route before Drew released the ball and was celebrating the TD while the ball was still in flight. He's turning out to be a great pick up in WR.

- Ryan has got to go. Period. His schemes are not working and we got EXTREMELY lucky that Rothlisberger hurt his throwing hand early in this game. There were too many plays where Heath Miller was literally running routes with no one even 5 yards from him. And why Bell was not covered coming out on the flat, I don't know. If Ben doesn't overthrow Miller for 3 quarters, we lose this game. And what's up with giving up all of those soft yards/ scores at the end of the 4th quarter?



Overall: Since we hadn't won in Pittsburgh since '87, I'm happy. Our boys just need to keep this going and close strong. And yes, 8-8 will take the South. Everyone is 0-0 in the Playoffs.

I was there too. You're right, the Steeler faithful were extremely confident heading in.

Glad I was able to check off Heinz Field from the list. Cool stadium, great view and rabid fan base.

saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 12-03-2014, 06:48 PM   #13
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,556
Blog Entries: 3
Re: Film review - Steelers game

The Franco Harris / Drew Brees embrace was pretty freakin cool.
saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 12-03-2014, 08:00 PM   #14
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 14,355
Re: Defensive film review - Steelers game

We still get the best pressure with our 4-3 in my opinion.
foreverfan likes this.
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Old 12-04-2014, 08:15 AM   #15
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan by way of a little Mississippi River town in Louisiana
Posts: 4,244
Re: Defensive film review - Steelers game

Originally Posted by Rugby Saint II View Post
We still get the best pressure with our 4-3 in my opinion.
I agree. I wish we had a stud NT for a 3-4.
halloween 65 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/69830-defensive-film-review-steelers-game.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest Tyrunn Walker News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 12-07-2014 07:50 PM 2
New Orleans Saints Tweets | Personalities | SportSpyder This thread Refback 12-03-2014 09:31 PM 2
Defensive film review - Steelers game This thread Refback 12-03-2014 08:54 PM 3
Film review - Steelers game This thread Refback 12-02-2014 11:55 PM 4
The Latest Keenan Lewis News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 12-02-2014 11:36 PM 1
The Latest Martavis Bryant News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 12-02-2014 10:44 PM 1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts