Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Davis Tull didnít belong in the Southern Conference. Plenty of quality football players pass through that conference, and some even succeed in the NFL. But watching Tull, who starred for Tennessee-Chattanooga, play against that level of competition, it almost seemed ...

Like Tree13Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2015, 08:14 AM   #1
Threaded by papz
Problem?
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,942

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

Davis Tull didnít belong in the Southern Conference.

Plenty of quality football players pass through that conference, and some even succeed in the NFL. But watching Tull, who starred for Tennessee-Chattanooga, play against that level of competition, it almost seemed unfair.

It became worse in nonconference games, when Tennessee-Chattanooga played the likes of Tennessee Tech. In those games, Tull, who was picked by the Saints in the fifth-round of the NFL draft, almost made a mockery of the proceedings.

Down after down, play after player, he was in the backfield, creating pressure or making life miserable for the quarterback. Thereís one play against Tennessee Tech from last season when Tull trucked not one, but two running backs serving in protection and had the quarterback dead-to-rights. The only person who could stop him was a teammate, who tripped and took out his legs.

The performance was stunning. From start to finish, he was in the backfield, making the other players on the field look like props and standees. No one could stop him.


Read more: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans | Saints | The Advocate — Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	logo16.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	10520  

jeanpierre likes this.
Views: 2119
Old 05-07-2015, 08:46 AM   #2
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort, Alabama
Posts: 21,156
Re: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

Really looking forward to seeing what this guy can do.
Danno is offline  
Old 05-07-2015, 09:20 AM   #3
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,980
Blog Entries: 52
Re: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

Mr Curiosity of the draft. he has me wondering and waiting
hagan714 is online now  
Old 05-07-2015, 09:38 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 21,590
Blog Entries: 29
Re: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

Originally Posted by hagan714 View Post
Mr Curiosity of the draft. he has me wondering and waiting
Hopefully the ghost of Greenbrier won't spook him.
SmashMouth is offline  
Old 05-07-2015, 10:47 AM   #5
Site Donor 2015
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Thibodaux
Posts: 12,511
Blog Entries: 23
Re: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

Originally Posted by SmashMouth View Post
Hopefully the ghost of Greenbrier won't spook him.
Bad JuJu, we need to move camp back here...
SmashMouth, K Major and brees84 like this.
jeanpierre is offline  
Old 05-07-2015, 11:29 AM   #6
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,557
Blog Entries: 3
Re: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

Originally Posted by jeanpierre View Post
Bad JuJu, we need to move camp back here...
It wasn't the restaurant, it was the cooks.
jeanpierre likes this.
saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 05-07-2015, 12:56 PM   #7
Site Donor 2015
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Thibodaux
Posts: 12,511
Blog Entries: 23
Re: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

There was NO pass rush last season, none, nothing, nada...

Our linebackers barely registered on the screen...

It starts with the line play on both sides of the ball...

And our front seven on defense has been abyssmal!!!
spkb25 and brees84 like this.
jeanpierre is offline  
Old 05-07-2015, 09:03 PM   #8
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belle Chasse
Posts: 1,687
Re: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

Originally Posted by jeanpierre View Post
There was NO pass rush last season, none, nothing, nada...

Our linebackers barely registered on the screen...

It starts with the line play on both sides of the ball...

And our front seven on defense has been abyssmal!!!
I just don't understand it. I was so pumped about our D line after 20103 season. The idea of seeing Jordan, Hicks and Jenkins all playing in a Pro Bowl didn't seem far fetched to me. Add Foster and Walker and I was thinking best D'Line in the business. Now they're crap?
spkb25 likes this.
Boutte is offline  
Old 05-07-2015, 09:13 PM   #9
10,000+ Posts!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 10,397
Blog Entries: 5
Re: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

Originally Posted by Boutte View Post
I just don't understand it. I was so pumped about our D line after 20103 season. The idea of seeing Jordan, Hicks and Jenkins all playing in a Pro Bowl didn't seem far fetched to me. Add Foster and Walker and I was thinking best D'Line in the business. Now they're crap?


Don't worry... we all did.
halloween 65 likes this.

Last edited by foreverfan; 05-08-2015 at 06:06 AM..
foreverfan is offline  
Old 05-07-2015, 09:15 PM   #10
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort, Alabama
Posts: 21,156
Re: Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans

Originally Posted by Boutte View Post
I just don't understand it. I was so pumped about our D line after 20103 season. The idea of seeing Jordan, Hicks and Jenkins all playing in a Pro Bowl didn't seem far fetched to me. Add Foster and Walker and I was thinking best D'Line in the business. Now they're crap?
No, they aren't crap, they just had a crappy season. Our #2 CB plan failed miserably and we paid a hefty price for it. Cam Jordan apparently read all his headlines instead of working hard.

I suspect this season will be a lot different.
Rugby Saint II likes this.
Danno is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/72322-saints-rookie-film-review-if-everything-translates-linebacker-davis-tull-could-prove.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 05-07-2015 09:07 AM 5
Saints rookie film review: If everything translates, linebacker Davis Tull could prove to be a steal for New Orleans This thread Refback 05-07-2015 08:24 AM 13


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts