Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Originally Posted by Budsdrinker Did you notice who was playing? We had 4 DE's in the game. Smith and Jordan inside with Gallete and Wilson on the outside. That is a great lineup for passing downs, not sure on running ...

Like Tree9Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 11:30 AM   #11
Threaded by TheOak
10000 POST CLUB
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cypress Tx.
Posts: 16,193

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

Originally Posted by Budsdrinker View Post
Did you notice who was playing? We had 4 DE's in the game. Smith and Jordan inside with Gallete and Wilson on the outside. That is a great lineup for passing downs, not sure on running downs though.
The commentator did make a comment that the "pressure" squad was in. Made me watch a little closer.

i somewhat suspect that they could do no worse against the run than our "run squad"
Views: 2324
Latest Blogs
REFUND Last Blog: 12-07-2014 By: xan




Saints: A glimpse of the future Last Blog: 11-19-2014 By: lee909


Old 10-09-2012, 01:41 PM   #12
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 11,730
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

This season we haven't had opponents against the ropes. They run to finish the game out and the nascar package might not be effective.
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 02:01 PM   #13
100th Post
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, D.C
Posts: 378
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by x626xBlack View Post
"the front four at the end there getting to the quarterback when we really needed them to do that"

Could we possibly REALLY NEED them to do that more often?
LOL..yea if we could get that for 4 quarters instead of 4 minutes that would be nice
Rell&Gold is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 06:17 PM   #14
Falcons Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 148
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

He needs to be asked why his defense is on pace to give up the most yards in NFL history... at the same rate the NO offense set the NFL record for the most prolific offense in NFL history last year, 456 yards a game(and at least 420 in every game so far), 31 yards more per game than the 1981 Baltimore Colts.
Radical is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 06:28 PM   #15
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,245
Blog Entries: 4
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by x626xBlack View Post
The commentator did make a comment that the "pressure" squad was in. Made me watch a little closer.

i somewhat suspect that they could do no worse against the run than our "run squad"
Funny. "pressure" and "run" would not be what I'd use to characterize those defenses.
saintsfan1976 is online now  
Old 10-10-2012, 06:10 AM   #16
I donate wisdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Finland... formerly Southern Virginia
Posts: 3,956
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by Budsdrinker View Post
Did you notice who was playing? We had 4 DE's in the game. Smith and Jordan inside with Gallete and Wilson on the outside. That is a great lineup for passing downs, not sure on running downs though.

Yeah, but last week that particular front 4 line-up wasn't able to create any pass rush to speak of, so maybe it was more about the Chargers' O-line underperforming as opposed to just the Saints' front 4 - especially the LT, Gather.
FinSaint is offline  
Old 10-10-2012, 06:29 AM   #17
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 4,691
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by FinSaint View Post
Yeah, but last week that particular front 4 line-up wasn't able to create any pass rush to speak of, so maybe it was more about the Chargers' O-line underperforming as opposed to just the Saints' front 4 - especially the LT, Gather.
The packers had the worst o line in the league and we didn't get to Rodgers all day, didn't even get a sack
Chargers o line wasn't worse than packers and the only difference is, we played Wilson and galette more versus the chargers
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 10-10-2012, 07:44 AM   #18
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: in line with my ridiculous CLEAR PLASTIC BAG
Posts: 2,859
Blog Entries: 3
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

I think it was Galette who did a spin move somewhere towards the end of the game and my eyeballs nearly fell out of my head -- felt like I had not seen a Saints D-lineman do anything that fancy in years! Usually they just sorta stand there locked up with the O linemen, humming and not going anywhere, spinning in circles, like those little electric football men.
SaintsBro is online now  
Old 10-10-2012, 08:02 AM   #19
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cypress Tx.
Posts: 16,193
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by saintsfan1976 View Post
Funny. "pressure" and "run" would not be what I'd use to characterize those defenses.
Ah! But you classify whats on the field when our offense is not on the field a "defense"...

Interesting... Tell me more about your travels.


TheOak is offline  
Old 10-10-2012, 08:57 AM   #20
I donate wisdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Finland... formerly Southern Virginia
Posts: 3,956
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by dizzle88 View Post
The packers had the worst o line in the league and we didn't get to Rodgers all day, didn't even get a sack
Chargers o line wasn't worse than packers and the only difference is, we played Wilson and galette more versus the chargers

Still, that doesn't negate the fact that this same "pass rush" front 4 wasn't able to create any pass rush against the Packers, even though they were give enough snaps to do so.

Wilson's sack/fumble/recovery was all on Jared Gaither, who was at that point suffering from an injury, which Wilson took full advantage of - for which you must give him credit for... but still...

I'd say that overall the Saints' front 4 were able to create more push consistently against the Chargers than the Packers. The one big difference between those two performances were the O-lines they were facing, hence my conclusion that the Chargers' O-line was one of the reasons why the Saints' front 4 were able to have a better game this past Sunday. I'm not saying that the Chargers' O-line played badly or that they are better or worse than the Packers' O-line - I'm simply saying that for whatever reason the Saints' front 4 were able to create better match-ups against the Chargers' O-line than they were against the Packers' O-line.

"I don't think I'll be thinking at all. I think I'm just gonna go out there and play my balls out" - Martez Wilson | "I'm not bashing people, I'm bashing their opinions because in my opinion their opinion is wrong" - Danno
FinSaint is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/51715-steve-spagnuolo-reviews-defensive-performance-against-chargers.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 10-08-2012 09:05 PM 1
Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers This thread Refback 10-08-2012 07:37 PM 2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts