Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; What were your thoughts about losing Curtis Lofton to the Saints? How did that affect your team’s defense? “Curtis was an integral part to our success in our first four years here. The way that the league is set up, ...

Like Tree5Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 05:53 PM   #1
Threaded by papz
Retired
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,546

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

What were your thoughts about losing Curtis Lofton to the Saints? How did that affect your team’s defense?

“Curtis was an integral part to our success in our first four years here. The way that the league is set up, with free agency and everything, you’d like to be able to sign all of your players back but it’s just not possible. Curtis had been a leader for us and had done a very good job. Unfortunately, the way that the league is set up, guys are going to change teams. I miss Curtis. Curtis is a great man. He was a big part of the success that we had in our first four years. Unfortunately now we are on the opposite sides of the sideline.”

Does it hurt more that he went to the Saints instead of another team?

“No it doesn’t. In terms of free agency, those are decisions that the player has to make. We have no control over that. The decisions that the player makes is what he feels is best for him and his career.”

With the Saints, is he doing what you expected him to do?

“He’s still a tackling machine. You see that every week. Probably 90% of the games that have been played this year, he is probably the leading tackler. That was a trait that he had here, he was a very active player on defense.”

How helpful has Todd McClure been for Matt Ryan and his development? How about for you?

“Everybody talks about the quarterback- wide receiver relationship and what’s often overlooked is the center- quarterback relationship because depending on how you’re identifying defensive fronts, sometimes it’s on the quarterback and sometimes it’s on the center in different schemes. Sometimes it’s on both guys and they have to be seeing it out of the same eyes. Todd has seen a lot of different fronts and a lot of different looks. Especially early on, I think he was a calming influence on Matt. Matt has played a lot of football games, he is in his fifth year, and his maturation process is probably as fast as any quarterback that has ever played.”

Read more: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	falconsuck.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	19.4 KB
ID:	5617  

Views: 2244
Latest Blogs
The ArtiChoke Last Blog: 09-18-2014 By: Barry from MS


How to really handle Ray Rice and AP Last Blog: 09-17-2014 By: neugey


The Lost Art of the Trade Last Blog: 08-30-2014 By: jeanpierre


Old 11-07-2012, 06:09 PM   #2
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 247
Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

"How does it feel that the saints have had y'all's number?"

ATL head coach mike smith. "It sucks. 8-1 is not going to be a good feeling. But we have to accept it and see how we can improve as a team and pray to God we don't see them in the playoffs... But I doubt we get passed our first home game in the playoffs. But we had a good run until we ran into the saints"
WhoDat!656 likes this.
iWho_Dat is offline  
Old 11-07-2012, 06:20 PM   #3
"Do Your Job!!"
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mid City, New Orleans
Posts: 1,755
Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

How does it feel to know you are known around New Orleans as "Skid britches"

Matt Ryan: What!! Damn...I ate some chili enchiladas and they didn't sit well. I didn't think anyone noticed the stain. I'm so embarrassed
CharityMike is offline  
Old 11-07-2012, 06:50 PM   #4
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 247
Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

How does it feel to know that Brees is so much better than you'll ever be?

Matt Ryan "I know I know watching him makes me feel so belittled its a wonder we even have a fan base if I had a fraction of his skills we may would have scored 5 points in that playoff game."
iWho_Dat is offline  
Old 11-07-2012, 06:55 PM   #5
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,785
Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

I remember when Atlanta interviewed 5 guys before 6th-choice Smith finally said yes. Can't believe he lasted this long
Other than games against us, the guy actually has a great record.
Don't get me wrong- he's a crappy game coach and is also always seconds away from blowing up, but his record is good.
Rugby Saint II likes this.
ScottF is offline  
Old 11-07-2012, 07:47 PM   #6
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 1,488
Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

I hope the defense shows up. If Atlanta steams rolls us in the Dome wait for it...
The next day they'll be crowned Super Bowl Champs. FFS they're already saying Matt Ryan is MVP material...
Jamessr is offline  
Old 11-07-2012, 08:11 PM   #7
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 11,364
Blog Entries: 43
Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

I read this scandalous thread exposing the Falcons, Smith, PoopBritches and all - BIG Scandal in Falcon Nation (Falcons Suck..)
Halo is offline  
Old 11-07-2012, 08:13 PM   #8
SaintsWillWin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shreveport,Louisiana
Posts: 9,933
Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

The falcAints and their knuckle-dragging,dog-food eating fans are STILL mad at the Saints for breaking Marino's passing record against them last year on MNF!

They say that we put Brees back in the game when the Saints were going to win JUST to break the record! They forget to mention that they went for 4th & whatever around the 20-yd line, which was also the amount of yards that Brees needed; instead of punting the ball!

Falcons Still Remember Drew Brees Insult
On average, Atlanta's rivalry with New Orleans is a bitter one. But after two incidents in the last few years—Drew Brees re-entering a game to break the passing yards record, and dancing on the Falcon logo on MNF—the Saints have given the Falcons more reasons than usual to dislike them. This could add some fuel to the fire next Sunday and several weeks down the road, when New Orleans visits the Georgia Dome on Thursday Night Football.


Falcons Flyover: November 6, 2012 - The Falcoholic
Jamessr and iWho_Dat like this.

"A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to "The United States of America" for an amount of "up to and including my life."
WhoDat!656 is offline  
Old 11-08-2012, 01:50 PM   #9
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 11,391
Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

Meg Ryan better drink a lot of Pepto Bismol......he's going to get a case of the squirts.
73Saint likes this.
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Old 11-08-2012, 08:47 PM   #10
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5,512
Blog Entries: 4
Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

Funny they dwell on Brees record and not the last 10 of 12 games we crushed their dreams.
saintsfan1976 is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/52659-atlanta-falcons-head-coach-mike-smith-quarterback-matt-ryan-preview-sundays-matchup.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup This thread Refback 11-09-2012 01:38 AM 1
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 11-08-2012 02:54 PM 1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts