Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; I agree about needing to fix our O-line,but Brees has thrown behind WR's alot, this has me worried, say pressure or whatever but pressure wasn't there on alot of those behind throws or all the int's either....

Like Tree20Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2014, 07:22 AM   #11
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan by way of a little Mississippi River town in Louisiana
Posts: 4,244
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

I agree about needing to fix our O-line,but Brees has thrown behind WR's alot, this has me worried, say pressure or whatever but pressure wasn't there on alot of those behind throws or all the int's either.
halloween 65 is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 07:47 AM   #12
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,555
Blog Entries: 3
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by blackangold View Post
If we had sproles Brees would feel more comfort in the check down...

With Sproles we would be 6-4 right now... he was worth at least two games. Awful move considering Brees has never been with out a scat back (Bush and Sproles).
6.2 yds per play. I'd say Brees is comfortable checking down.
saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 09:48 AM   #13
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,250
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by saintsfan1976 View Post
6.2 yds per play. I'd say Brees is comfortable checking down.
How many of those are designed by our **** play calling?

Sproles turned the check down into first downs.
blackangold is online now  
Old 11-22-2014, 10:42 AM   #14
500th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Alexandria, La.
Posts: 551
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

I don't usually agree with much Prisco says but I agree it starts with the O-line. I know Drew has made some bone-head decisions this year but I think he just doesn't have confidence that he's going to get the time he needs to dissect a defense and has a kneejerk reaction at times. Kind of anticipating the pressure before it even gets there.
jnormand and Rugby Saint II like this.
jlouhill is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 10:52 AM   #15
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,555
Blog Entries: 3
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by blackangold View Post
How many of those are designed by our **** play calling?

Sproles turned the check down into first downs.
Play calling is no different than last year. Difference is getting pressure with 4 rushers and limiting Drew's options. Sproles wouldn't change that.

Now if you'd have said missing PT has cost us some versatility this year, I'd agree with that for sure.
captainshawn likes this.
saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 11:05 AM   #16
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,445
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

But if Brees was forcing passes downfield and getting picked, we'd all be screaming for him to take the check downs instead

The difference is - Cadet is not Darren sproles, he is nowhere near as fast or elusive and sproles for a small guy had a ton of power, cadet is skinny and brings literally nothing to our team
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 11:19 AM   #17
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort, Alabama
Posts: 21,144
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Cadet didn't replace Sproles. He was simply going to take some more snaps.

BTW, Sproles was nothing special last year in our offense. Cadet's receiving numbers are about the same as Sproles' were last year. They're both averaging about 8-1/2 yards per catch.
Danno is online now  
Old 11-22-2014, 11:29 AM   #18
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,445
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by Danno View Post
Cadet didn't replace Sproles. He was simply going to take some more snaps.

BTW, Sproles was nothing special last year in our offense. Cadet's receiving numbers are about the same as Sproles' were last year. They're both averaging about 8-1/2 yards per catch.
I think we'd also need to factor in the effect that sproles had on defenses though
Agreed he was not great last year, nowhere near his 2011 form but even if he wasn't the primary receiver he made an outstanding decoy because he was a threat to take it the distance at any moment

I personally don't think teams fear Cadet like they did sproles
Plus with teams getting pressure against us sending 4 guys, they can drop 7 back into coverage - the same reason Brees has struggled against teams like the rams for years.
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 12:09 PM   #19
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,250
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by dizzle88 View Post
I think we'd also need to factor in the effect that sproles had on defenses though
Agreed he was not great last year, nowhere near his 2011 form but even if he wasn't the primary receiver he made an outstanding decoy because he was a threat to take it the distance at any moment

I personally don't think teams fear Cadet like they did sproles
Plus with teams getting pressure against us sending 4 guys, they can drop 7 back into coverage - the same reason Brees has struggled against teams like the rams for years.
Cadet is more of a threat to fumble than he is to score...
Barry from MS and dizzle88 like this.
blackangold is online now  
Old 11-22-2014, 12:12 PM   #20
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,250
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by saintsfan1976 View Post
Play calling is no different than last year. Difference is getting pressure with 4 rushers and limiting Drew's options. Sproles wouldn't change that.

Now if you'd have said missing PT has cost us some versatility this year, I'd agree with that for sure.
I agree on the PT point, hope he is back this week.

I would like our play calling to be more in-line with the 2011 season, but it's just not. Better protection is definitely a need as Goodwin and Grubbs awful play makes Drew rush the pass, Evans is looking rather average as well.
blackangold is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/69626-after-further-review-why-saints-high-octane-offense-suddenly-stalled.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 11-22-2014 04:14 AM 2
After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled This thread Refback 11-21-2014 06:12 PM 9


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts