Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; I don't know what happened to Grubbs and Evans. Last year they were both solid and now they are struggling to be average at best. I understand getting older, but that's a very sudden drop off. Conditioning maybe?...

Like Tree20Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2014, 12:15 PM   #21
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Toilet of Idaho
Posts: 2,836
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

I don't know what happened to Grubbs and Evans. Last year they were both solid and now they are struggling to be average at best. I understand getting older, but that's a very sudden drop off. Conditioning maybe?
jnormand is online now  
Old 11-22-2014, 12:33 PM   #22
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,446
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by blackangold View Post
Cadet is more of a threat to fumble than he is to score...
Haha exactly!
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 01:27 PM   #23
DOMEPATROL
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jacksonville,Florida Due To Military Obligation
Posts: 480
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

As much as I love sproles he can be an offense killer....the fact that he had one great year with us then he wasn't much help...look at McCoy in Philly, that team is looking for the big play so much with sproles that they're taking reps and plays from arguably one of the top 3 running backs coming into this season
DrewDat is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 01:30 PM   #24
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,250
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by DrewDat View Post
As much as I love sproles he can be an offense killer....the fact that he had one great year with us then he wasn't much help...look at McCoy in Philly, that team is looking for the big play so much with sproles that they're taking reps and plays from arguably one of the top 3 running backs coming into this season
I blame that more on Mccoy and the lack of blocking, mind you defenses have adapted to the Kelly offense. Could have seen the 2nd year decline for Kelly coming a mile away.
blackangold is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 01:34 PM   #25
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: TEMPO Arkansas River Swamp
Posts: 1,221
Blog Entries: 2
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Play-calling is stale...it no longer has that "innovative & explosive" stigma to it anymore.

The O-line doesn't help, especially at Center, as that 0.5 extra second matters with down-the-field passing with inside pass rush. Our 2 best games with pass protection against GB & Car had Lelito parked at Center...how bizarre?

Still saying Carmichael should have been given play-calling duties before the season started.
blackangold likes this.
Barry from MS is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 02:13 PM   #26
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort, Alabama
Posts: 21,145
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by Barry from MS View Post
Play-calling is stale...it no longer has that "innovative & explosive" stigma to it anymore.

The O-line doesn't help, especially at Center, as that 0.5 extra second matters with down-the-field passing with inside pass rush. Our 2 best games with pass protection against GB & Car had Lelito parked at Center...how bizarre?
Yeah, I just don't understand the Goodwin/Lelito thing. I know the coaches know more than all of us put together, but thats a headscratcher to me. When Lelito is in we look good, when Goodwin starts, not so much.
darstep likes this.
Danno is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 02:27 PM   #27
Site Donor 2015
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Watford England
Posts: 6,115
Blog Entries: 1
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

I have no issur with moving Sproles on. Far too often last year he was being hit as he received the ball. He was getting beat up and as soon as he was on the field teams knew it was a passing first. The issue has been PT not being fit and Stills missing early parts of the season. Stills and Thomas on the field will make a difference as Stills speed needs respected and Thomas will get the yards needed on check downs.

I think the teams needs new ideas and new blood we have also been unlucky as the offense has hardly had a game fully fit. Goodwin, Thomas, Robinson and Stills all been out. Streif hurt and now Cooks to IR and some talk Robinson could be out all season.

I was behind Goodwin coming back after not getting a C in the draft but we need to stop changing eho plays and just give Lelito the job and see if he can handle it for next year.

"Two receivers to the left, Garcon to the right. Manning in the shotgun, puts Collie in motion. Looks in his direction...it's picked off! It's picked off! It's Tracy Porter again! He's runnin' free! He's gonna go all the way!
lee909 is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 03:23 PM   #28
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 14,355
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

We should have gone with the top center last year......maybe the top two centers.lol
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 03:49 PM   #29
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Toilet of Idaho
Posts: 2,836
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

I miss the days when our offense was feared. Now it just seems like we are good, but not explosive.

Maybe Joe Morgan and PT will infuse a little excitement.

That said I still hope we run Ingram like we have been. He's been good.
jnormand is online now  
Old 11-22-2014, 04:04 PM   #30
Site Donor 2015
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Watford England
Posts: 6,115
Blog Entries: 1
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Morgan offers nothing imo

He has been on the team a few years and has as many injuries and suspensions as TDs. 11 career recptions tells its own story
lee909 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/69626-after-further-review-why-saints-high-octane-offense-suddenly-stalled.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 11-22-2014 04:14 AM 2
After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled This thread Refback 11-21-2014 06:12 PM 9


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts