Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

In my opinion week 2 will show our season

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; We did plenty of things to lose vs cardinals but it's not like we didn't do anything positive. However, if we are going to be a team that; drops 4 interception opportunities a game, allows huge runs up the middle ...

Like Tree31Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2015, 05:17 AM   #1
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,486
In my opinion week 2 will show our season

We did plenty of things to lose vs cardinals but it's not like we didn't do anything positive.

However, if we are going to be a team that; drops 4 interception opportunities a game, allows huge runs up the middle on 2nd and 12 or can't score a TD in 4 redzone trips then I'm afraid it'll be another long season.

I understand the Cardinals have a decent Defense, I don't quite get people calling them SB contenders, all I saw was a veteran team beating on a handful of rookies and Sean Payton being too stubborn to call anything but a screen pass.

Obviously we'd like to see improvement in week 2 (I'd like to see a blowout)
Just remember last season when people said "atleast we play the bucs"
Remember what happened, we squeaked a win in overtime and then they threw the game in week 17 to get a better draft pick.

Do not underestimate this team, they know our entire offensive playbook (not that it's hard to learn, I can call our plays from the formation now)

We can't go into Tampa with;

Brandon Coleman catching TD's then dropping crucial first down catches
Marques Colston dropping 5 passes a game
Offense not taking advantage of opportunities to score
We certainly cannot settle for field goals every single trip.
Defense needs to take advantage of turnover chances
Jameis Winston threw a pick 6 his first ever pass, we need to get pressure on him and force mistakes.

Finally, Sean Payton needs to man up and be the aggressive coach that he signed up as.
All I've seen since 2012 is a conservative game manager who waits for other parts of the team to play badly and then jumps on that person, completely ignoring the fact that the offense is putting the defense in some very bad situations.
jnormand, jonnyrotten and pherein like this.

Your bonehead creator picked a fine chapter to omit from your memory bank....let me ask you, does a machine like yourself ever experience fear? - Vegeta, DBZ
dizzle88 is online now  
Old 09-15-2015, 09:37 AM   #2
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,109
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Get the drops under control. Winston is ripe for being picked, get the turnovers.
Beastmode is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 09:37 AM   #3
500th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 980
Blog Entries: 1
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

I guess I am on the opposite end of this argument. I don't think week 2 will prove anything about the future of this season. It's a lose-lose as far as predicting how the rest of the season goes. If we win big, it won't be big enough(Titans won 42-14). If we win close, same 7-9 Saints from last year. If we lose, sky is falling/fire Ryan/fire Payton/Brees is done. If I am to believe the Saints are playoff contenders this year, this is not the game that will solidify my faith.
mighty12 is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:00 AM   #4
Hou Saints Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,733
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

to early to determine how the season will go from here, just get the win and improve from last week.

This game WON'T be a blowout even if the offense can shake its redzone issues. Its a match up of division foes and evenly matched teams

IMO, Payton hasn't been the same since he came back from his suspension. There's a lack of aggression in his play calling and his attitude.
RaginCajun83 is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:03 AM   #5
SaintsWillWin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shreveport,Louisiana
Posts: 12,332
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Originally Posted by mighty12 View Post
I guess I am on the opposite end of this argument. I don't think week 2 will prove anything about the future of this season. It's a lose-lose as far as predicting how the rest of the season goes. If we win big, it won't be big enough(Titans won 42-14). If we win close, same 7-9 Saints from last year. If we lose, sky is falling/fire Ryan/fire Payton/Brees is done. If I am to believe the Saints are playoff contenders this year, this is not the game that will solidify my faith.
I feel the same way.

The one thing that last week's game and this week's game have in common is that both are games the Saints should have won!

Even with the injuries, if the offense and defense, (and the play-calling) were better the Saints would have won.

The Saints have absolutely no reason to not score TDs on every possession against Tampa.

The Saints schedule doesn't get any better after Tampa: Panthers, Cowboys, Eagles, failclowns, Colts, Giants, Titans.

The Saints had better get their heads out of their collective a$$es or 2014's 7-9 record will be remembered as fondly as 2009.

Saints 42-17

Geaux Saints
jnormand and pherein like this.

"A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to "The United States of America" for an amount of "up to and including my life."
WhoDat!656 is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:21 AM   #6
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort, Alabama
Posts: 21,162
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

A win tells us nothing other than we're 1-1.

A loss however tells us we aren't the 10 or 11 win team we were hoping for.
jnormand, spkb25, mighty12 and 2 others like this.
Danno is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:29 AM   #7
500th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Houma,LA.
Posts: 565
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

This game against Tampa is the only game I can see us winning in the first two months. God I hope I'm wrong believe me I do but I see a 1-7 start to our season
saintshrimp is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:41 AM   #8
SaintsWillWin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shreveport,Louisiana
Posts: 12,332
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Originally Posted by RaginCajun83 View Post
to early to determine how the season will go from here, just get the win and improve from last week.

This game WON'T be a blowout even if the offense can shake its redzone issues. Its a match up of division foes and evenly matched teams

IMO, Payton hasn't been the same since he came back from his suspension. There's a lack of aggression in his play calling and his attitude.
I agree that SP hasn't been the same since his suspension, but saying the Saints and Bucs are evenly matched is like saying a crocodile and a chameleon are similar!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	crocodile.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	73.1 KB
ID:	10867  
WhoDat!656 is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:46 AM   #9
500th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Houma,LA.
Posts: 565
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

This is when you can tell its a sad sad upcoming year when we start to call a game against the worse team in the NFL last year as a season defining game
saintshrimp is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:47 AM   #10
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: in line with my ridiculous CLEAR PLASTIC BAG
Posts: 3,268
Blog Entries: 3
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

I agree, we can learn a lot about our team from this game. Tampa Bay is about on our level. It's not hard to imagine, that without Brees at the helm, the recent Saints roster of the last two years could easily have been a two-win trainwreck of a team, just like Tampa was last year. They certainly gave us quite a handful, both times we played last year.

The old days of Sean Payton kicking Tampa's can from one end of the stadium to the other, with those fantastic dominant 38-17 type blowout scores that we used to love and enjoy, both at home and at their place....those days are long behind us now. We will see a better yardstick of what we really have on our roster, come Sunday.
Rugby Saint II and dizzle88 like this.
SaintsBro is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/74112-my-opinion-week-2-will-show-our-season.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest Brandon Coleman News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-15-2015 07:43 PM 1
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-15-2015 09:50 AM 5
In my opinion week 2 will show our season This thread Refback 09-15-2015 08:30 AM 6


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts