Register All Albums FAQ Community Experience
Go Back   New Orleans Saints Forums - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Lions Coach Schwartz blames officials

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Problem with this call is the ball has to be inside the pylon. The point of the ball hit the pylon and therefore never crossed the plane inbounds. Last time I looked the pylon is on the ob edge not ...

Like Tree50Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 01:09 PM   #1
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago. Ill
Posts: 13
Problem with this call is the ball has to be inside the pylon. The point of the ball hit the pylon and therefore never crossed the plane inbounds. Last time I looked the pylon is on the ob edge not in the field of play.
Bigdawg is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 01:35 PM   #2
Site Donor 2015
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Finland... formerly Southern Virginia
Posts: 4,964
Originally Posted by Bigdawg View Post
Problem with this call is the ball has to be inside the pylon. The point of the ball hit the pylon and therefore never crossed the plane inbounds. Last time I looked the pylon is on the ob edge not in the field of play.

Yeah, but on the NBC "super close-up" or whatever they call it they showed the ball pushing the pylon inward, which would in effect mean that the ball crossed the goal line.

Although, when I watched that play frame by frame on my own from the backside perspective - I thought that the left knee was in fact down before the ball touched the pylon, 2 frames before where the NBC froze the play showing the pylon going inward. But the call was called "confirmed," which means that even if they would've called it 4th down on the field, they would've reversed it after a Lions' challenge.

"I'm not bashing people, I'm bashing their opinions because in my opinion their opinion is wrong" - Danno
FinSaint is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 01:45 PM   #3
Merces Letifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,161
Originally Posted by Bigdawg View Post
Problem with this call is the ball has to be inside the pylon. The point of the ball hit the pylon and therefore never crossed the plane inbounds. Last time I looked the pylon is on the ob edge not in the field of play.
Actually, the pylon is considered the endzone. Touching the pylon is as good as breaking the plane.
Tobias-Reiper is offline  
Closed Thread


Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://blackandgold.com/saints/40014-lions-coach-schwartz-blames-officials.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Lions Coach Schwartz blames officials This thread Refback 01-07-2012 11:05 PM 15


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2020 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts